Let’s Get Cynical’s “Stuff I Do For Other People” Roundup

Soundsphere Magazine

It occurred to me a little while back that people who stumble across my blog without knowing me personally probably don’t know about other music-related stuff I may write or otherwise do. With that in mind, I thought I’d offer a brief summary of these things – sorry if you’ve already seen me spam these all over Facebook…

Muso’s Guide

I’ve been writing for Muso’s Guide in a sporadic sort of way for three years now, after answering a call for writers that I happened to glance on the Drowned In Sound forums. They’ve been very easy-going and great to work with, allowing me to write reviews as and when I see something that catches my eye – this is great for me, as it means I can often get early access to albums I’m looking forward to, or alternatively I can take a punt on something I’ve heard good things about. It’s also nice to be part of something bigger than just me and my own thoughts on this blog – for example, by contributing to the site’s ‘albums of the year’ countdown (speaking of which, I should get thinking about this year’s…). You can find a handy collection of all my reviews for the site right here, but do have a look at some of their other reviews as well, there’s some good stuff there. I should give a quick plug to my friend Rosie Duffield as well – she also writes for the site and shared Head of Music duties at Newcastle Student Radio with me back in the day. Read her stuff here, it’s good!

Soundsphere Magazine

Keeping things more local, I’ve started doing a few reviews for York-based magazine/website Soundsphere. It’s run with bucketloads of enthusiasm by Dom Smith, and I was only too happy to oblige when he offered me a chance to write for them. As well as the website, they also published their second print edition over the summer – to find out more about it here.

So, if you were wondering where my review of this year’s Constellations Festival is, the answer is that it’s right here, after Dom asked me to cover it for him at the last minute. I’ve also written reviews of the excellent new Fawn Spots EP Hair Play, and Flashguns’ debut record Passions Of A Different Kind. Hopefully you’ll see a lot more from me on the site in the future!

BBC Introducing In York And North Yorkshire

Jenny Eells, presenter of BBC Introducing In York And North Yorkshire, has been kind enough to put various interviews I’ve done with local bands out on air over the past few months. This has somehow culminated in her asking me to do a co-presenting slot on one of the weekly shows – of course, I jumped at the chance! We recorded it on Monday and it went really well (I think), and you can hear it this Saturday 26th November (that’s tomorrow!) on BBC Radio York between 6-7pm. Tune in on 103.7 or 95.5 FM locally, or click here to listen live on the internet. The show will also be available on iPlayer for a week after broadcast, so I’ll update this post with the link as soon as I can.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

