E3 2011 Preview

It’s that time of year that’s guaranteed to leave avid gamers frothing impatiently at the mouth –  E3 (the Electronic Entertainment Expo to its parents) is less than a week away. All three major players in the console industry will be coming out to play alongside countless studios and publishers, but here’s my own, entirely biased list of what I’m looking forward to:

Nintendo’s New Console

The yet-to-be-named new Nintendo console is probably the company’s best chance to wrench my gaming time back from my Xbox. Rumours have been flying around concerning the console’s ability to stream games directly to a touch-screen controller, and Satoru Iwata has said that the system will offer “a new approach to home video game consoles.” We’ll find out what the hell is going on at Nintendo’s press conference, scheduled for 9am PST on the 7th June (that’s about 5pm UK time).

The Legend Of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Of course, I’m already planning to dust off my Wii for what may be a last hurrah of sorts for Nintendo’s current console – but given the scarcity of information surrounding the title since its first appearance at last year’s E3, I’m keen to know more about it. Show me that the Motionplus controls actually work and throw me some new footage and information please – this is a title I definitely *want* to be excited for. For now, there’s always this trailer to look at again.

More 3DS Titles

I’ve had fun with my 3DS, although so far it hasn’t really grabbed me in the way I hoped it might have. I’ll probably end up picking up the Ocarina Of Time re-make, but I’d like to see the company pin down a release schedule for the raft of titles that have so far only really been teased. And hey, if you throw a few new surprises in there as well, I won’t be complaining.

Gears Of War 3 (and Microsoft in general)

For me, things are looking relatively quiet on the Microsoft front – Kinect looks like it’s going to be a big focus for the company this year, and seeing as it’d be a struggle to even use it properly in my living room, I’m not really that fussed about it at the moment. I wouldn’t bet against Microsoft having a couple of non-Kinect surprises up its sleeve, but so far the one big exclusive that stands out for me is Gears Of War 3. After the multiplayer beta blow-out, hopefully the focus will be on showing off a bit more of the campaign (as previewed in this trailer). Microsoft’s press conference is scheduled for 9am PST on the 6th June (again, that’s about 5pm UK time).

Assassin’s Creed Revelations

Game Informer’s massive information blowout on this game has got me well and truly stoked for it, and the teaser trailer that’s been released is intriguing to stay the least. No doubt the game will be front and centre of Ubisoft’s E3 presence.

Mass Effect 3

Unfortunately it’s been pushed back to a Q1 2012 release, but hopefully we’ll still get to see more of the conclusion to Bioware’s space-opera trilogy at E3 this year.

Sony

Sony isn’t really of as much interest to me personally as I don’t own a PS3. That said, the company’s new portable console (so far only known as the ‘NGP’) could potentially grab my attention, and the company’s ongoing response to the PSN debacle will be interesting to see. Sony fans will no doubt want to keep an eye on Sony’s press conference, at 5pm PST on June 6th (1am UK time, for the dedicated), for information on Uncharted 3, Resistance 3, and no doubt more besides.

Of course, there’s going to be much more besides that at the event, so why not let me know what you’re looking forward to?

E3 2011 will take place in Los Angeles between the 6th-9th of June.

Leave a comment

Filed under Video Games

Leave a Reply

